Having fun in Lindy Hop – Is it wrong?

I am definitely not the best Lindy Hopper out there. I just want to put it out there, to establish my awesome credibility. I also haven’t won any competitions, I am not even a reference in my “lindy scene”. Add to that, I haven’t been Lindy Hopping for that long (in comparison to many others in the Lindy Hop scene anyways). I’d qualify myself as an average dancer, not bad and not excellent.

I’ve read many articles and blog posts about all these awesome dancers that talk about what it takes to “perform” and I also have seen alot of tumblrs pass where you can see alot of posts treating, in a damn funny way, different ways some people are not as great as dancers as you are. After seeing all this information, I find it hard to feel comfortable.

It’s almost as if being a beginner is seen as something wrong. Hasn’t everyone went through it? I sure have…
I saw a post about being able to say “No” to dancing with certain people. In all honesty, I think EVERY reason is pretty legit not to dance. From, “I don’t feel like dancing right now” to “This song sucks.” There is only ONE reason I am not in agreement with. The “this person doesn’t dance well” reason.

I SOLEMNLYEYLY (however you spell that word) SWEAR TO DANCE WITHOUT BIAS. I WILL NEVER QUALIFY IF I SHOULD DANCE WITH SOMEONE BASED ON IF THEY ARE A GOOD DANCER OR NOT.

Not only that, I’M GOING TO HAVE FUN!

Let’s totally take something unrelated. My loved one sings pretty well. I sing totally awful. We still have fun together singing our favorite songs in the car. We’re sharing something here, without inhibition and other type of crap that would make me feel less awesome because I don’t share that talent – yet.

I feel the same about dancing. For some reason, with Lindy Hop though, there seems to be a pressure to perform, to be exact, to be an elite. I’d love to be part of the elite, just because of the talent they have. But do I need to necessarily be awesome like them to have fun?

You don’t have to be a professionnal sports player to have fun playing a sport!

The reason I feel that pressure, is that people seem to absolutely want to give feedback to beginners, who frankly aren’t ready or really just don’t give a shit for at that moment. They are already totally high on learning new stuff from their classes, putting additionnal pressure will make them trip out. Not only that, people tend to judge other people’s dancing from the outskirts. I’ve heard so much: “Oh my god, d’you see how much that person sucks?”. ¬†Literally, my loved one who doesn’t Lindy Hop, that took a beginner class before a dance in a venue, decided not to dance because of hearing all of the comments people had.

I also want to be clear. Etiquette is important, of course. Aerials and such are fun, but injury is not.

I’m kind of going all over the place with this post, which sucks since it’s my first one, but to sum it all up:

Lindy Hoppers, stop taking this shit so serious. Have fun. Isn’t that what it was originally danced for? FUN?

Leave a Reply

